Focus on Hair Care: Static in your hair

Static blues

Static blues

In the winter time you may notice that your hair and clothing are suddenly full of static. The big question everyone asks  is “why is static so common in the winter? What makes static come, and how can it be prevented?

Static is caused by a build up of electrons. The water and humidity in the air generally helps these electrons move off you more quickly so you don’t build up a big charge. However, in the winter when the air is very dry and lacking humidity there is nothing there to remove these electrons which is why we are all staticy.

 

I woke up in the morning

On the wrong side of my bed,

To discover my hair

standing on my head.

With no time to waste

I ran to school,

Although I knew

I looked like a fool.

The kids in my class

were complaining all day,

“We can’t see the board

With her hair in the way”.

The teacher was annoyed

And asked me to explain,

I told her I tried to fix it

But my efforts were in vain.

Well then

So all I could say,

I sure hope tomorrow

Will be a better day.

 

Tips for static:

1. Spray static guard on your hair brush before brushing your hair.

2. Use the Goody Signature Satin Brush  with tourmaline to prevent and remove static.

3. Use moisturizing shampoo for additional moisture in the winter.

Do you have any tips that work for you that you’d like to share with us?! Please leave a comment if you do!

Leave a Reply

